home |news | 1960's | 1970's1990's | Girls | Noise | fun | forum
from 16 magazine, December 1966
Where were you born?
Manchester, England on 8 March, 1944.

What does your family consist of?
My mum and dad—Graeme and Dorothy— plus an older brother (Michael— he's our assistant manager!) and a younger sister (Sandy— she plays bass in this really fab group called the Honeybears!)

Where do you live?
In a flat with Meg in London.

If you suddenly came into a million dollar inheritance, what would you do with it?
Invest it (after buying an Aston Martin)!

What type of boys are you most attracted to?
Cute ones— well-dressed, long-haired types.

Ideally, where would you like to live?
Buckingham Palace. Seriously, though, I'm happy where I am.

What was the most difficult problem you ever have had to solve?
Who was going to replace Rory Kent on guitar.

Do you have a pet fear?
The fear of failure affects me more than anything else.

Have you any pets?
No, sorry, our landlord doesn't allow it.

What advice do you give young people who wish to become musicians?
Practice! Every day, every night. And hope you play in the right place at the right time.

What do you think of music as a career?
I love it!

Who are your best friends?
Meg Blessing, definitely. We do almost everything together.

What are your most prized material possessions?
I don't think I have any.

What kind of gifts do you like to receive?
Something the giver has put a lot of thought into.

Are you ever moody?
I try not to be, but I frequently end up so when things aren't going the way I want them to.

Who are your favorite musicians?
Lesley Gore, Donovan, Dave Clark 5, Herman's Hermits— not necessarily in that order.

What kind of people do you dislike?
People full of themselves.

What should a boy do to attract you?
Be nice and treat me like a human being instead of a big star.

What sports do you enjoy watching?
Cricket. It's a good way to kill an afternoon or five.

What sports do you personally do?
I don't have the time to participate.

What sports do you dislike?
Rugby— much too much realistic violence for my tastes.

What are your hobbies?
I spend a lot of time drawing and painting. In fact, I've filled nearly two sketchbooks on this tour alone with my impressions of where we've been and who we've met.

What are your favorite foods?
Steak, well-done, with a fresh garden salad and crisps.

What is your secret ambition?
To be bigger than the Beatles.

What is your pet extravagance?
New art supplies, anything related to spy films, shows, or books.

Do you have any big regrets?
Not yet.

What clothes do you like a boy to wear?
Well-tailored— suits with narrow lapels and ties.

What are your favorite colors? Clothes?
Blue and white; comfortable.

Do you have a nickname?
James.

What is the best address to write you?
c/o Capitol Records, 333 Vine Street, Los Angeles, California.
 

Content ©2002, 2003 MDL Communications Ltd. All rights reserved. Disclaimer.